WHO Classification of Acute Myeloid Leukemia

In this article, we will discuss the WHO Classification of Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML). So, let’s get started.


The WHO has modified FAB classification of acute myeloid leukemia by reducing the number of blasts required for diagnosis from 30 to 20% and incorporated molecular, morphologic and clinical features.

(1) AML with recurrent cytogenetic translocations

AML with t(8;21) (q22;q22); AML1 (CBFα)/ETO

Acute promyelocytic leukemia [AML with t(15;17) (q22;q12) and variants; PML/RARα]

AML with abnormal bone marrow eosinophils [inv (16) (p13;q22) or t(16;16) (p13;q22) CBFβ/MYH1]

AML with 11q23 (MLL) abnormalities

(2) AML with multilineage dysplasia

With prior myelodysplastic syndrome

Without prior myelodysplastic syndrome

(3) AML and myelodysplastic syndrome, therapy related

Alkylating agent-related

Topoisomerase type II-related

Other types

(4) AML not otherwise categorised

AML minimally differentiated

AML without maturation

AML with maturation

Acute myelomonocytic leukemia

Acute monocytic leukemia

Acute erythroid leukemia

Acute megakaryocytic leukemia

Acute basophilic leukemia

Acute panmyelosis with myelofibrosis

Myeloid sarcoma

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.