Stages of Sleep and Normal Sleep Values

In this article, we will discuss various Stages of Sleep and Normal Sleep Values. So, let’s get started.

Stages of sleep and normal sleep values

Stages of sleep

1. Non-rapid eye movement (NREM) sleep
• Stage 1
• Stage 1
Stages I & Il are light sleep
• Stage III
• Stage IV
Stages Ill & IV are deep sleep
2. Rapid eye movement (REM) sleep
Sleep is an integral portion of human
existence, which is sensitive to most
physiological or pathological changes
like aging, stress, illness, etc.

Normal sleep values

• Normal sleep per day is between 6-8 hours, although some people can maintain a 4-6 hour cycle
• 4-6 NREM/REM cycles per night
• Sleep structure changes throughout life
• Wakefulness after sleep
Less than 30 minutes
• Sleep onset latency (SOL)
Less than 30 minutes
• REM sleep Latency
70-120 minutes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.