DSM-5 Criteria for Schizophrenia

In this article we will discuss about the DSM-5 Criteria for Schizophrenia.

In this article, we will discuss about the DSM-5 criteria for schizophrenia. So, let’s get started.

DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria for Schizophrenia

Two or more symptoms lasting for at least one month (Should include at least one from 1-3)

1. Delusions

2. Hallucinations

3. Disorganized speech

4. Disorganized or catatonic behavior

5. Negative symptoms such as diminished emotional expression and avolition

  • Impairment in the level of functioning of one or more areas eg. work, inter-personal relation or self-care
  • Some signs must last for at least a period of six months which must include at least one month or less if treated of symptoms that meet Criteria A i.e active phase symptoms and may include periods of residual symptoms. During residual periods, only negative symptoms may be present.
  • Schizoaffective disorder and bipolar or depressive disorder with psychotic features ruled out:
  • No major depressive or manic episodes occurred concurrently with active phase symptoms.
  • If depressive or manic episodes occurred with active phase symptoms, they have been present for a minority of the total duration of the active and residual phase of the illness.
  • The disturbance is not attributable to the physiological effects of a substance such as drug abuse, medications etc.
  • If there is a history of autism spectrum disorder or communication disorder, tje diagnosis of schizophrenia is only made if prominent delusions or hallucinations are present along with other symptoms for at least one month

Other symptoms includes:

Inappropriate affect

Disturbed sleep pattern

Dysphoric mood

Anxiety and phobia

Depersonalization or derealization

Cognitive and memory deficit

Social and occupational dysfunction/deficit

Behaviour deficit such as hostility and aggression

Suicide ideation is 5-6% and about 20% make suicide attempt on more than one occasion

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.