Bronchopulmonary segments

In this article we will discuss about Bronchopulmonary segments. So let’s get started.

Bronchopulmonary segments

It is a portion of the lung supplied by specific bronchus and arteries. These arteries are branch from pulmonary and bronchial arteries and pass through the centre of the segment. These segments are seperated from each other by layers of connective tissue. There are 10 bronchopulmonary segments in the right lung, three in superior lobe, two in middle lobe and five in inferior lobe while there are 8 bronchopulmonary segments in the left lung, two in superior lobe, two in lingula of superior lobe and four in inferior lobe.

Clinical significance

Clinically the infection related to a particular segment gets restricted to it however tuberculosis and bronchogenic carcinoma may spread from one segment to the other.

Bronchoscopy is the procedure to visualise the interior of the bronchi through an instrument known as bronchoscope for diagnostic purpose.

Bronchopulmonary segments

Right lung

Superior lobe consists of apical, posterior and anterior segment.

Middle lobe consists of lateral and medial segment.

Inferior lobe consists of superior, medial-basal, anterior-basal, lateral-basal and posterior-basal segment.

Left lung

Superior lobe consists of apico-posterior and anterior segment.

Lingula of superior lobe consists of superior and inferior lingular segment.

Inferior lobe consists of superior, anteromedial basal, posterior basal and lateral basal segment.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.